The Joe Perdue Memorial Award

Many of you may remember our friend and colleague Joe Perdue who passed away in 2015. Joe held positions as a faculty member at UNLV, University of Tennessee, Auburn University and Georgia State University. He was also very involved with CMAA and held positions such as Director of Education and Vice President.

In addition to all of this, Joe served as a Commissioner for the Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration. Joe is remembered by his fellow commissioners as being a tireless advocate for the accreditation process. He was instrumental in promoting the value of accreditation to schools. Joe was the “behind the scenes” person, not looking for personal recognition, but rather continually worked to improve hospitality education. In 2016 the ACPHA Commission decided to develop an award to honor Joe’s memory and his work with accreditation.

2016 Awardee-Dr. John Mahoney

The first recipient of the award embodied the spirit of the awards purpose. He was involved with ACPHA since its inception and had served in multiple capacities from a pre-visit consultant to site team member and chair, and ultimately chair of the Commission. In fact, he is still doing work for ACPHA even after his retirement from Widener University in June 2016.

The award was presented for his countless efforts and contributions to ACPHA and for being a tireless advocate for the value of accreditation to Hospitality and Tourism Administration Programs to every program he visited or was involved with over the course of his career.

2017 Awardee-Mr. John Drysdale

From the very beginning of ACPHA, and then CAHM, he was instrumental in shaping these organizations into the professional and fiscally responsible agency it became. Without his vision and diligence during the separation of the two Commissions from CHRIE they would not have become the viable organization we are today.

He was a true pioneer on the committee that developed the original CAHM standards and served on the first CAHM commission, he contributed to the self-study format, the team report, and many processes that were required at the inception of this accreditation body. It is often said that he kept everyone on track, recognizing the importance to the commitment of accreditation.